Nepal alone has 14 out of 20 mountains taller than 8000 meter

Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Tourism Department of Nepal,  added 6 mountains of Nepal to the list of mountains more than 8000-meter heights in Magh 25, 2074.
Nepal alone has 14 out of 20 mountains taller than 8000 meter

Now altogether Nepal has 14 eight-thousanders and other 5 of 6 are located in Pakistan and the remaining one is in China. All eight-thousanders are located in the Himalayan and Karakoram mountain ranges. The name of eight-thousanders, their height from sea level and location is given here;
  1. Mt. Everest (Sagarmatha): 8848 m. Solukhumbu Nepal
  2. Mt. K2: 8611 m. Pakistan
  3. Kanchenjunga: 8586 m Taplejung Nepal
  4. Lhoste: 8416 m Solukhumbu Nepal
  5. Yalung Kang: 8505 m Taplejung Nepal *
  6. Makalu: 8463 m Samkhuwasabha Nepal
  7. Lhostesar: 8404 m Solukhumbu Nepal *
  8. Kanchenjunga South: 8476 m Taplejung Nepal *
  9. Kanchanjunga Central: 8473 m Taplejung Nepal *
  10. Lhoste Middle: 8410 m Solukhumbu Nepal *
  11. Cho Oyu: 8201 m Solukhumbu Nepal
  12. Dhaulagiri I: 8167 m Nepal
  13. Manaslu: 8156 m Gorkha Nepal
  14. Nanga Parbat: 8126 m Pakistan
  15. Yalung Kang West: 8077 m Taplejung Nepal *
  16. Annapurna I: 8091 m Nepal
  17. Gasherbrum I: 8068 m Pakistan
  18. Broad Peak: 8051 m Pakistan
  19. Gasherbrum II: 8035 m Pakistan
  20. Sisapanma: 8013 m China
* The six newly listed 8-thousand by Nepal Government in 25 Magh 2074
Note: The Names in Bold style (14 Mountains) are from Nepal.
Chakrapani Bhandari

Hi, I’m Chakra, from Lumbini (Born place of Lord Buddha) Nepal. I am an administrative professional in Nepal with having "we can" attitude. If you have any queries relevant to the topic, drop a comment below.

Post a Comment

Dear Readers, thanks for choosing to Post a Comment. Please keep in mind that all comments are moderated according to our Comment Policy, and your email address will NOT be published. Let's have a meaningful conversation relevant to the post topic.

Previous Post Next Post