2018 FIFA World Cup Russia


  • FIFA World Cup founded on 1930
  • Number of teams 32 (211 (eligible to enter qualification)
  • Host Nation and Champion of the first world cup was Uruguay
  • In all, 79 nations have played in at least one World Cup. Of these, eight national teams have won the World Cup. 
  • Brazil (5) Germany(4), Italy(4), Argentina(2), France(2), Uruguay(2), England(1), Spain(1).

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Some Facts
  • Host Nation: Russia
  • Final Match: Luzhniki Stadium, France Vs Croatia (4-2)
  • Match Duration: June 14 to July 15
  • Champion: France
  • Runners-up: Croatia
  • Third Position: Belgium
  • Golden Boot Award: England's Harry Kane (6 goals)
  • Golden Ball Award: Croatian's Luka Modrić
  • Golden Gloves: Belgium's Thibaut Courtois
  • Best Young Player:  France's Kylian Mbappé (19 years)
  • Fair Play Trophy: Spain
  • First appeared team: Iceland and Panama
  • First time VAR (Video Assistant Referee) used
  • Total Goal: 169
  • Total Team: 32
  • Total Match: 64
  • World Cup Mascot: Zabivaka™ (means “the one who scores”) 
  • Ball: Adidas Telstar 18
  • Official Song: Live it up
  • Oldest Player: Egypt's Goalkeeper Essam El-Hadary, 45 years
  • Youngest Player: Daniel Arzani, 19 years and five months – Australia
  • Most suicide goals: 12 goals
  • Upcoming: Qatar (2022), USA, Mexico, Canada (2026)


There are currently five post-tournament awards, and one given during the tournament 
  • the Golden Ball (adidas Golden Ball): best player, first awarded in 1982
  • the Golden Boot (adidas Golden Boot): top goal scorer, first awarded in 1982;
  • the Golden Glove Award (adidas Golden Glove): best goalkeeper, first awarded in 1994;
  • the Best Young Player (Hyundai Best Young Player) award for best player under 21 years of age at the start of the calendar year, first awarded in 2006;
  • the FIFA Fair Play Trophy for the team that advanced to the second round with the best record of fair play, first awarded in 1970;
  • the Man of the Match Award (Budweiser Man of the Match): outstanding performance during each game of the tournament, first awarded in 2002.
Two other awards were given between 1994 and 2006:
  • The Most Entertaining Team award for the team that has entertained the public the most, during the World Cup final tournament, as determined by a poll of the general public;
  • An All-Star Team comprising the best players of the tournament chosen by the technical study group.

Post a Comment

Dear Readers, thanks for choosing to Post a Comment. Please keep in mind that all comments are moderated according to our Comment Policy, and your email address will NOT be published. Let's have a meaningful conversation relevant to the post topic.

Previous Post Next Post